How do you classify fires?

How do you classify fires?

Fires can be classified in five different ways depending on the agent that fuels them: Class A, Class B, Class C, Class D, and Class K. Each type of fire involves different flammable materials and requires a special approach.

What color is a Class D fire extinguisher?

Colour coding of Extinguishers

Type Old Code Fire Class
Carbon Dioxide Black B, electrical
Halon Emerald Green A
Wet Chemical Not in use A, F, some are also suitable for B class fires
Specialist Powder French Blue D

Which gas is used in fire extinguisher?

carbon dioxide

What is an example of a Class D fire?

A Class D fire is characterised by the presence of burning metals. Only certain metals are flammable and examples of combustible metals include sodium, potassium, uranium, lithium, plutonium and calcium, with the most common Class D fires involve magnesium and titanium.

What are the principles of fire prevention and control?

Basic principles

  • Prevent the occurrence of fire:
  • Provide fire compartmentalization:
  • Provide safe escape routes:
  • Provide fire alarms:
  • Provide extinguishing agents:
  • Provide facilities for the fire brigade:
  • Provide adequate control and maintenance:

Which type of fire extinguisher is most commonly used?

Dry Chemical Fire Extinguishers

What are the fire prevention?

Fire prevention is a function of many fire departments. The goal of fire prevention is to educate the public to take precautions to prevent potentially harmful fires, and be educated about surviving them. It is a proactive method of preventing fire-based n emergencies and reducing the damage caused by them.

What is meant by fire safety?

Fire safety is the set of practices intended to reduce the destruction caused by fire. Fire safety measures include those that are intended to prevent ignition of an uncontrolled fire, and those that are used to limit the development and effects of a fire after it starts.

What is the basic principle of fire prevention?

A fire needs three elements – heat, oxygen and fuel. Without heat, oxygen and fuel a fire will not start or spread. A key strategy to prevent fire is to remove one or more of heat, oxygen or fuel.

What are the four main types of fire extinguishers?

When it comes to the types of fire extinguishers, there are five main types including wet chemical, CO2, dry powder, foam and water.

What is the basic principle of fire fighting?

Thus, there are three conditions essential for fire: fuel, oxygen, and heat (or ignition source). These three conditions are often represented as the fire triangle. If one of these conditions is missing, fire does not occur; and if one of them is removed, fire is extinguished.

What is full form of pass?

Using a Fire Extinguisher. Discharge the extinguisher within its effective range using the P.A.S.S. technique (pull, aim, squeeze, sweep). Back away from an extinguished fire in case it flames up again.

What elements are in fire extinguishers?

Fire extinguishers contain different chemicals, depending on the application. Handheld extinguishers, which are commonly sold at hardware stores for use in the kitchen or garage, are pressurized with nitrogen or carbon dioxide (CO2) to propel a stream of fire-squelching agent to the fire.

What are the safety measures to prevent fire?

Top 10 Tips to Prevent House Fires

  • Test Your Smoke Alarms Regularly. The easiest way to avoid a house fire is by checking your smoke alarms regularly.
  • Inspect All Your Heating Sources.
  • Keep Your Stove and Oven Clean.
  • Don’t Leave Your Kitchen.
  • Always Check Your Dryer.
  • Maintain All Cords.
  • Properly Store Flammable Products.
  • Practice Caution with Candles.

What type of fire extinguisher is Class D?

Dry Powder extinguisher

What are the ABC’s of fire extinguishers?

ABC Fire Extinguishers

  • Class A is for trash, wood, and paper.
  • Class B is for liquids and gases.
  • Class C is for energized electrical sources.