What are the dialects of Nigeria?

What are the dialects of Nigeria?

The official language is English, but it is spoken less frequently in rural areas and amongst people with lower education levels. Other major languages spoken include: Hausa, Yoruba, Igbo, Fulfulde, Ibibio, Kanuri, and Tiv. Nigerian Sign Language, Hausa Sign Language, and Bura Sign Language are all used in Nigeria.

What is the importance of indigenous language?

For indigenous peoples, languages not only identify their origin or membership in a community, they also carry the ethical values of their ancestors – the indigenous knowledge systems that make them one with the land and are crucial to their survival and to the hopes and aspirations of their youth.

What are the role of language in Nigeria?

The functions of languages especially in multilingual contexts, such as Nigeria include roles relating to official use of language, being used as national language, media language of wider communication, international communication purposes, school subjects, judiciary functions, roles relating to national identity.

Why English language should remain the official language in Nigeria?

After Nigeria’s independence, in 1960, the parliament had to retain the English language as Nigeria’s official language because of the multi-ethnic and multilingual nature of the country and because none of the ethnic compositions was ready to forego its own language and accept another as national or official lingual …

Do you think it is important to preserve local languages and dialects?

Do you think it is important to preserve local languages and dialects? Yes, it is important to preserve languages as they are responsible for the development of culture of the community. It helps in preservation of one‟s heritage and traditions. Language preservation ensures contact with one‟s history and literature.

Why is it important to keep languages alive?

Keeping your culture and language alive at home will reinforce in your children a sense of identity and will build their self-esteem. Children benefit from learning to value their roots and their culture.

What are the roles that the English language perform in Nigeria?

But the reverse is the case in Nigeria, like many other African nations, as the colonial language of English still remains dominant as the language of virtually all aspects of national life: politics, administration, business, sports, diplomacy, communication, media, education, creativity, literacy, constitution, law.

What are the importance of English language in modern world?

Importance of English: English has been the considered to be the first global Lingua Franca. In today’s modern world the English language has become part and parcel of every existing field. It has been an international language of communication, business, science, information technology, entertainment and so on.

What is the official language of Nigeria Why was it chosen?

The official language of Nigeria is English, which was chosen to facilitate the cultural and linguistic unity of the country. British colonisation ended in 1960.

What is the most important African language in Nigeria?

Afroasiatic languages. Hausa is the official language of a number states in Northern Nigeria and the most important dialect is generally regarded as that spoken in Kano, an Eastern Hausa dialect, which is the standard variety used for official purposes.

Why is English the official language of Nigeria?

The official language of Nigeria, English, the former colonial language, was chosen to facilitate the cultural and linguistic unity of the country.

What languages are spoken in the north central region of Nigeria?

The North Central region of Nigeria, running along the Niger and Benue rivers, is home to a wide range of languages. Some of the most common Nigerian languages spoken there include Nupe, Kambari, Gbagyi, Dibo, Gbari, Jarawa, Gade, Alago, Eloyi and Agatu, with dozens of other languages also spoken in the region.

What are the languages of Niger Congo?

Niger–Congo languages. Niger–Congo predominates in the Central, East and Southern areas of Nigeria; the main branches represented in Nigeria are Mande, Atlantic, Gur, Kwa, Benue–Congo and Adamawa–Ubangi.