Do I have to register my business name in Alabama?
In Alabama, sole proprietors do not have to register with the Secretary of State to begin operations. However, sole proprietor businesses assume the personal name of the owner. If you want to avoid using your personal name, you must register for a trade name.
What license do I need to start a business in Alabama?
Business Privilege License – The State of Alabama requires anyone conducting business in the state to obtain a Business Privilege License in each county where the business operates.
How much does it cost to register a business name in Alabama?
|Alabama Sole Proprietorship Click for step-by-step instructions||Name registration: $30 (optional)|
|Alabama General Partnership Click for step-by-step instructions||Name registration: $30 (optional)|
Does Alabama require a DBA?
Alabama DBA Registration. In Alabama, businesses are not required by the state to register a DBA / Trade Name. There are, however, several reasons a business will want to consider registering that we will cover.
How do I register a business in Alabama?
To register your Alabama LLC, you’ll need to file the Articles of Organization with the Alabama Secretary of State. You can apply online or by mail. Read our Form an LLC in Alabama guide for details. Or use a professional service like ZenBusiness or LegalZoom to form your LLC for you.
Does a sole proprietor need a business license in Alabama?
There isn’t a requirement in Alabama for sole proprietors to acquire a general business license, but depending on the nature of your business you may need other licenses and/or permits to operate in a compliant fashion.
How do I register to do business in Alabama?
- Option 1: File Online on the Secretary of State’s Website.
- Option 2: File the Application to Register or Renew Trademark, Service Mark or Trade Name By Mail or In-Person.
- Cost: $30 Filing Fee.
- Office Address: State of Alabama Office of the Secretary of State.
- Mailing Address: