What does examination of conscience mean in the Catholic Church?

What does examination of conscience mean in the Catholic Church?

Examination of conscience is a review of one’s past thoughts, words, actions, and omissions for the purpose of ascertaining their conformity with, or deviation from, the moral law.

What do the Beatitudes teach us Catholic?

At first glance, the main purpose of the Beatitudes seems to be to offer various consolations to the downtrodden. But while Jesus does this, he also propounds a stern standard of judgment and offers strict guidance for good behavior for those who find themselves in a position of privilege.

How do you perform an examination of conscience?

How to Make an Examination of Conscience

  1. Begin With a Prayer to the Holy Spirit.
  2. Review the Ten Commandments.
  3. Review the Precepts of the Church.
  4. Consider the Seven Deadly Sins.
  5. Consider Your Station in Life.
  6. Meditate on the Beatitudes.
  7. End With the Act of Contrition.

What are the eight Catholic Beatitudes and where can they be found in the Bible?

There are two versions of the Beatitudes, one from the Gospel of Matthew (Matthew 5:3-12) and one from the Gospel of Luke (Luke 6:20-24). In Matthew, the Eight Beatitudes were delivered by Christ during the Sermon on the Mount; in Luke, a shorter version is delivered in the lesser-known Sermon on the Plain.

What is the importance of consciousness examen?

By recognizing the need for forgiveness and God’s desire to forgive through this daily examination of consciousness, the power and freedom of living in ongoing redemption becomes possible. One’s spiritual path becomes a dynamic experience of conscious living based on a relationship with God.

Who created the examination of conscience?

Examination of Conscience (miniseries)

Examination of Conscience
Created by Enric Hernández Luis Mauri Albert Solé
Directed by Albert Sol
Country of origin Spain
Original language Spanish

What sins should a Catholic confess?

He has listened to confessions of lying, cheating, gossiping, violence, pornography use, fornication, homosexual behavior, abortion, sterilization, IVF use, etc. He has heard it all. Don’t be afraid to bring darkness into the light so the priest can exercise his power and remit these sins from your life.