How many dams are there in India?

How many dams are there in India?

India has 5,202 large dams. According to the Central Water Commission (CWC), a large dam is one with height of at least 15m from its deepest foundation to the crest.

What are the 10 dams in India?

Major Dams in India

  • Bhavani Sagar dam – Tamil Nadu. It came into being in 1955 and is built on the Bhavani River.
  • Tehri Dam – Uttarakhand.
  • Hirakud dam – Odisha.
  • Bhakra Nangal Dam – Himachal Pradesh.
  • Nagarjuna Sagar Dam – Andhra Pradesh.
  • Sardar Sarovar Dam – Gujarat.
  • Tungabhadra Dam – Karnataka.
  • Rihand Dam – Uttar Pradesh.

Which is India’s largest dam?

Large Dam

# Name State
1 Tehri Dam Uttarakhand
2 Lakhwar Dam Uttarakhand
3 Idukki (Eb)/Idukki Arch Dam Kerala
4 Bhakra Dam Himachal Pradesh

Who is the No 1 dam in India?

1. Tehri Dam – Uttarakhand. Tehri Dam located on the Bhagirathi River, Uttaranchal now become Uttarakhand. Tehri Dam is the highest dam in India,with a height of 261 meters and the eighth tallest dam in the world.

Which dam is Ganga river?

Major Dams in India

List of Major Dams in India
Name of Dam State Name River Name
Govind Ballabh Pant Sagar Dam / Rihand dam Uttar Pradesh Rihand River
Tehri Dam Uttarakhand Bhagirathi River
Dhauli Ganga Dam Uttarakhand Dhauli Ganga River

Which is India’s oldest dam?

Kallanai Dam
Kallanai (also known as the Grand Anicut) is an ancient dam. It is built (in running water) across the Kaveri river flowing from Tiruchirapalli District to Thanjavur district,Tamil Nadu, India.

Which is smallest dam in India?

Cheruthoni Dam
Impounds Periyar River
Height 138.2 m (453 ft)
Length 650.9 m (2,135 ft)
Dam volume 17,00,000 cu.m