What are the 5 process groups of a project?

What are the 5 process groups of a project?

The PMBOK® Guide organizes the Project Management Processes in five groups: initiating processes, planning processes, executing processes, controlling processes and closing processes. All 39 processes are divided into these five groups and intertwined by the results that they achieve (Exhibit 2).

How many processes are in each process group?

The PMP Process Chart: The 5 Process Groups Process Groups, group the 47 processes based on phase of the project life cycle. There are five phases in the project lifecycle that include, initiating, planning, executing, monitoring/controlling, and closing.

What are 5 process areas of project management as per PMI?

Generally speaking, projects require five process groups — initiating, planning, executing, monitoring and controlling, and closing. These are known as the PMBOK (Project Management Body of Knowledge) process groups.

What are the six process groups in project management?

Project Management Process Groups

  • Initiating.
  • Planning.
  • Executing.
  • Controlling.
  • Closing.

What is a project process group?

The knowledge areas work within all of the project management process groups. The process groups are where you break up and categorize a project. It’s the sequence of the project from start to finish. You can use the knowledge areas throughout each stage of the process.

How many processes we have in project Resources Management knowledge area?

49 processes
The PMI framework of project management consists of 49 processes which are categorized in 10 knowledge areas as set out in the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK®, 6th edition).

What are the best uses of pert?

Use a PERT chart if you need to:

  • Show the interdependencies of certain tasks.
  • Anticipate the amount of the time it’ll take to complete a project.
  • Determine the critical path to meet your deadlines.
  • Plan for large or more complex projects.