What is the order of fetal development?

What is the order of fetal development?

The process of prenatal development occurs in three main stages. The first two weeks after conception are known as the germinal stage, the third through the eighth week is known as the embryonic period, and the time from the ninth week until birth is known as the fetal period.

What is the order of embryo zygote and fetus?

A baby goes through several stages of development, beginning as a fertilized egg. The egg develops into a blastocyst, an embryo, then a fetus.

What is the development of a zygote?

zygote, fertilized egg cell that results from the union of a female gamete (egg, or ovum) with a male gamete (sperm). In the embryonic development of humans and other animals, the zygote stage is brief and is followed by cleavage, when the single cell becomes subdivided into smaller cells.

What is the process of development of embryo from zygote?

Embryogenesis refers to the process of development of embryo from the zygote. During embryogenesis, zygote undergoes cell division (mitosis) and cell differentiation.

Is a blastocyst a zygote?

If the egg is fertilized by a sperm cell, it is known as a zygote. The zygote divides and becomes a collection of cells known as a blastocyst. In week #4 of pregnancy, the blastocyst implants in the wall of the uterus and develops into the placenta and embryo.

How long is zygote stage?

The zygote phase is short, lasting only around four days, after which its cells rapidly divide to become a blastocyst. The blastocyst develops around the fifth day following fertilization as the zygote travels down the fallopian tube toward the uterus.

When does a zygote become a blastocyst?

The zygote’s single cell contains all of the 46 necessary chromosomes, getting 23 from the sperm and 23 from the egg. The zygote phase is brief, lasting only about four days. Around the fifth day, the mass of cells becomes known as a blastocyst.